Strength & Mass After 40 (C56_3B)

7:15 am - Home

Tuesday morning I completed Strength & Mass After 40 (C56_3B) as follows:

Band Chest Flyes  5 sets of 10 @ Red Band
Superset with;
Decline Bench Press  3-135, 3-160, 3-205, 1-225, 3 sets o1 5 @ 250

Decline CGBP  3 sets of 8 @ 190
Superset with:
Seated Side Lateral Raises  3 sets of 15 @ 15

KB French Press  8-62.5, 10-50, 10-50
Superset with:
Leg Raises  3 sets of 15

Bodyweight: 213.4 Pounds (Down 5.6 pounds from 219.0 on 7/2)

Workout Duration: 0:24:33.85 h:mm:ss.ms (with 1:00 rest between sets)	

Work has been crazy lately so I've fallen way behind on my journal entries.  I've still been hitting all of my workouts though.

My cast was removed yesterday and I was very ready for that.  Unfortunately my ankle, foot, and lower leg are sore and tender.  I had visions of being able to get back to squatting and deadlifting before too long but my doctor squashed that.  He told me to still use a crutch when walking and to limit my walking as much as possible for the next 7 days.  After that I can gradually increase my movement over the next 5 weeeks and then he'll reassess me.  In the meantime I can't do any exercises that put weight on my leg, so no squats, deadlifts, barbell rows, etc.  I'll keep going with my upper body only workouts seated as much as possible.

I'm going on a road trip to my in-laws house in Utah for the next week (starting Saturday).  I'll probably take that time completely off from lifting although I plan to do some daily pushups and possibly chins if I can find someplace to do them near their house.

When I get back from that trip I'm planning to change up my workouts some.  It will involve pieces of the Strength & Mass over 40 program, namely working up to sets of 3x5,3x3,and 3x1 on bench and incline bench.  My warmup sets for those lifts will involve reps of 15,13,11,9,and 7 to work more on hypertrophy.  All of my assistance lifts will be done for hypertrophy with lower weights.  Once I am able to do so I'll add squats, deadlifts, and rows back in as well.

Leave a comment